top of page
Search

Meet My Farmer part 1

Meet my farmer- Cormie Farms


Where do you get your food? Many articles and reports state Vancouver Island has enough food on the island for three days. Currently, we are living with the COVID 19 pandemic and food has and should become an issue for many. There is a resurgence of home gardens happening and people beginning to rethink their food supply. Food procurement has always been important to me and I do talk about this a lot. Every Saturday, rather than heading to the supermarkets I have taken the time to go meet my farmers, talk about farming, and learn about what they grow while I shop.


One regular farmer I have visited is Brian from Cormie farm. Most Thursdays I email him an order of whatever he has in supply for the week and I pick it up at 10 am Saturday am at his farm stand across from Rathtrevor in Parksville. He has a farm stand as well but it is not open until later in the season.


I did some research and learned that Brian Cormie started the farm with his brother in 1975 on Greig Road in Parksville. It is a well-established farm that uses organic practices although they are not certified organic. When you place an order the food is picked fresh the morning you meet him for your bin. You can taste the difference. The vegetables look alive, colourful, and smell amazing. As well the product has a long shelf life, it is very economical and tastes absolutely divine. Every bite of each vegetable has an intense flavor which makes you wanting more. Now that is what I call a vegetable worth eating.


Currently, the way to purchase is email or phone him Thurs or Friday morning and place an order then meet at farm stand Saturday 10 am

Look him up, he has a new website https://cormiefarm.ca/

Here are some of the more recent wonderful produce items I have purchased from Brian.




I recently have taken the time to food reconsider how I shop and become mindful again, to align my shopping practices with what I believe. When you run the rat race of life you can get lost in the hurry. I am trying to follow some very old principles of buying with thought, buying with care, and meal planning so that I use everything and not waste. More work initially but easier in the long run and I know exactly where my food comes from.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

COVID 19 and the significance of a menu plan

There is nothing like a pandemic to bring back good old fashioned home cooking. This is a time to bring the family back to the kitchen to plan what the meals might look like over the next while at ho

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page