top of page
Search

My food story

Updated: May 17, 2020

I am a trained home economist with degrees in Family and nutritional science, education, and a master's in Educational practice. I am very excited to be able to utilize my background which includes teaching home economics at the high school level for many years, food science, curriculum development, and knowledge in the area of agriculture. I have passionately facilitated every opportunity to bring each of these areas together for myself and my students. Personally, I value a sense of connection to the community, a strong work ethic, perseverance, lifelong learning, and sharing of my knowledge with both my colleagues and the students I work with.

I believe a part of living healthy is being able to make direct connections with the food one eats. I believe it is essential to understand the ecology of food, food literacy, food miles, and food sustainability and I have always passionately taught my foods classes with these themes in mind so that in some way I might help provide the spark that makes them look at the world with a sense of wonder and with an eco-literate perspective.

I love where I live and I want to preserve every aspect of it which is why I like to spend time thinking about environmental sustainability, food procurement, food sovereignty, agroecology, local agriculture, which can weave into lessons.

I have been privileged to witness and/or participate in small scale farming on Vancouver Island where I live, large scale farms on the Lower Mainland of British Columbia, and different types of agriculture across the globe. These distinct opportunities have provided me with a whole new lens as I move forth with my knowledge about my food story. I believe it is imperative to understand the interconnectedness of the world around us and how it impacts food production. I will sit in my garden and look at all the bees and I can only think about one thing- yay the pollinators are here. I sit at the river with my husband and dogs and I think wow this is my water source - I am concerned about the logging upstream and how that may impact our water source. It is with this lens that I will write most of my blog posts.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

COVID 19 and the significance of a menu plan

There is nothing like a pandemic to bring back good old fashioned home cooking. This is a time to bring the family back to the kitchen to plan what the meals might look like over the next while at ho

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page